Dr West’s Residence
Originally built by merchant Henry Thompson in 1860. He purchased the land off Sarah Tiffin in 1854. The house reflected Thompson’s social and economic status and authority in the small market town of Camden.
Henry Thompson lived in Macaria until 1870 with his large family of 16 children. Henry Thompson built “Macaria” in 1859-60 for the purpose of a school for teacher William Gordon, who was under his patronage, Thompson having several school-age sons.
The school did not eventuate, Gordon moving instead from Camden to “Macquarie Grove”.
Henry Thompson and his brother Samuel came to Camden as independent investors, setting up a general store and steam flour mill next to one another. They prospered being the middlemen for the local farmers.
The next two owners of “Macaria” were the Milfords, father then daughter. It later became Camden Grammar School and eventually was bought by Camden Council and is used as offices for the Mayor and Town Clerk.
The house was occupied by a series of doctors including Dr West. Macaria has gabled windows, high chimneys, and stone trims with wooden porch and verandah.
Sydney architect Clive Lucas maintains that Macaria is one of the finest picturesque Gothic town houses in Australia.
Learn more about Macaria and the Alan Baker Art Collection Click here